Abstract for workshop paper added to Academia

I’ve added a new abstract for a paper I’ll be giving in a workshop which I’m convening at BANEA 2016.  The workshop titled ‘Liminal Spaces – Transitions between Land, Sea & Sky in the Ancient Near East’ will explore transitional zones between land, sea and sky, focussing in particular on the concept of liminality or liminal spaces.The aim of the workshop will be to consider liminal zones from the perspective of vision and visuality– seeing beyond what is immediately visible – together with the cognitive aspects through which the visual experience can be interpreted. My paper ‘Crossing Liminal Spaces – Boundaries, Thresholds, Gates, and Doors: The Role of the Rosette Motif’ will explore the use of the rosette motif in transitional or liminal zones such as architectural thresholds, doors and gateways in the ancient Near East. I will be analysing evidence from such monumental architectural gateways as the Ishtar Gate which is extensively bordered with rosette motifs, as well as carved threshold slabs from  the entrances of the Neo-Assyrian palaces.

Picture1            Picture2

Ishtar Gate from Babylon, now in Pergamon Museum, Berlin

Picture3

Threshold slab from North Palace of Ashurbanipal at Nineveh

The paper will also detail the modern practice of protecting thresholds to houses in southern India by decorating them with Kolam designs – any of them featuring rosette motifs.

You can find the abstract for this paper at https://www.academia.edu/19788371/Abstract_Crossing_Liminal_Spaces_Boundaries_Thresholds_Gates_and_Doors_The_Role_of_the_Rosette_Motif

About cherylhart

I am a compulsive 'rosette hunter' as you will soon find out if you follow my posts. I am in the final stages of my PhD in which I have examined and analysed the rosette motif across the Eastern Mediterranean region during the Bronze and Iron Ages. You can follow my research in more detail on my Academia page. As 'The Rosette Lady' I will be extending my rosette search across cultures worldwide and across ten millennia, from around 8000 BC to the present day. Hope you enjoy the journey.
This entry was posted in Papers Added. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

