Two new conference presentations – abstracts for papers

I’ve added a new abstract for a paper I’ll be giving in a workshop ‘The Throne in Art and Archaeology from the Dawn of the Ancient Near East until the Late Medieval Period’ to be held at 10 ICAANE conference in Vienna in April 2016. My paper – entitled ‘Royal Flower Power? An Examination of the Rosette Motif as an Iconographic Element of Thrones and Their Decoration in the Ancient Eastern Mediterranean – will argue that the use of the rosette motif in association with either images of thrones, or as a decorative elements of the thrones themselves, acted symbolically, as a means of non-verbal communication, to enhance or promote the right of the incumbent to the ‘throne’. You  can find the full abstract at https://www.academia.edu/14186209/Royal_Flower_Power_An_Examination_of_the_Rosette_Motif_as_an_Iconographic_Element_of_Thrones_and_their_Decoration_in_the_Ancient_Eastern_Mediterranean

I’m also going to be giving another paper at the ICAANE conference and I’ve just revised the title of the abstract on Academia – you can find this one at https://www.academia.edu/14186658/REVISED_TITLE_-_Abstract_-_The_Role_of_the_Rosette_Motif_and_Non-Verbal_Communication_as_Embodied_Elements_of_Warfare_and_Violence_Ancient_Cyprus_a_Unique_Case

With two papers to present it looks like being a busy conference!!

 

About cherylhart

I am a compulsive 'rosette hunter' as you will soon find out if you follow my posts. I am in the final stages of my PhD in which I have examined and analysed the rosette motif across the Eastern Mediterranean region during the Bronze and Iron Ages. You can follow my research in more detail on my Academia page. As 'The Rosette Lady' I will be extending my rosette search across cultures worldwide and across ten millennia, from around 8000 BC to the present day. Hope you enjoy the journey.
This entry was posted in Papers Added. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

